What is the Central Teacher Eligibility Test (CTET), and Who is eligible to apply for it?

CTET stands for Central Teacher Eligibility Test. As the name suggests, this competitive exam is conducted to test the eligibility of a candidate who is going to pursue their career as a teacher. Moreover, it is the mandatory qualification of the teachers of central Govt. schools in India.

TET or Teacher Eligibility Test is widely known as Central Teacher Eligibility Test. This test denotes the minimum qualification of the teacher. To qualify the CTET exam, the candidates have to appear in two papers. The first paper is for primary school 1st to 5th standard. The second paper is for the 6th to 8th standard.

This eligibility criterion allows the candidate to apply for teaching jobs in the central govt. Schools.

Minimum Educational Qualification

The applicants must meet the minimum Educational Qualification to become a teacher in Central Govt. school. From class I to VIII, for every class, there are specific eligibility criteria. Find out the eligibility criteria given below.

Govt. has introduced the eligibility test in 2011 to maintain an elevated teaching standard in India. Once the candidates get their degree of B.Ed, they are expected to appear for TET and then pass with good grades.

Candidates who want to apply for teaching in primary school (I to V) should meet the following criteria:

  • Higher secondary with a percentage of 50 or two years of Diploma in Elementary Education.
  • Higher secondary or any equivalent qualification with at least 45% marks. As per the regulation passed in 2002, proclaimed by NCTE or Recognition Norms and Procedure, a candidate should pass or appear in the final year of two years Diploma in primary education.
  • Higher secondary or any equivalent qualification with at least 50 % marks and already possess or appearing for final year B.EI.Ed (Bachelor of Elementary Education).
  • Higher Secondary and any equivalent qualification with at least 50% marks and have a degree of 2-year diploma education or pursuing one.
  • Passed graduation with at least 50% marks with a degree on Bachelor of Education. The candidates already enrolled in an NCTE recognized institution must be granted as qualified in Bachelor of Education. Hence, they are automatically be enrolled as a teacher from class I to V.
  • Moreover, if they have enrolled for a six months Bridge Course in Primary Education, they can directly be appointed for the post. However, within two years appointment must take place.

The followings are the minimum educational qualification to become a teacher of classes VI, VII, and VIII:

  • A candidate must possess a graduation degree or must be appearing in the final year of a 2-year course in Primary education
  • The candidates must possess 50% marks in Graduation and passed or appearing in a course on Bachelor in Education.
  • Higher secondary qualification with a minimum percentage of 50 and passed or pursuing in the final year of B.A, B.Sc. B.A.Ed/ Sc Ed (4 years course).
  • The candidates must possess 50% marks in graduation and passed or pursuing the final year of special education or B.Ed.
  • Candidates qualified for the B.Ed programme are certified by NCTE. These candidates are also eligible for TET or CTET. The 2011 TET guideline also suggests candidates who have appeared in the teacher training course are also eligible for the same.

These are listed education qualifications from class I to class VIII. If a candidate meets one of the listed criteria, they can pursue their career as a central Govt. school teacher. However, the list doesn’t end here because, apart from the educational qualification, other important criteria are there.  In the section, we will talk about the rest:

  • Candidates should check and ensure they have fulfilled the criteria before opting for the exam.
  • Candidates who wish to become a teacher of I to VIII students must appear for both papers.
  • If any candidate can score 60% and more, he/she will be considered as a TET pass.

Eligibility of CTET

CTET eligibility is approved by CBSE, and it should meet a long list of criteria. Each of the criteria is listed here:

Eligibility of Age

The candidate must be at least 17 years of age. He/she has to be a citizen of India.

Nationality: the aspirants should be a citizen of India.

Eligibility criteria of reserved category

A few seats are reserved for candidates belonging to a special category. As per the rule, candidates of reserved categories like SC, ST, OBS, and PwD candidates are enlisted in the list. They would be granted a relaxation of 5% marks.

In contrast, no reservation is applicable for job placement as per the guidelines of CBSE.

Stay Connect with our education blog India.